Masterminds – Stone Soup (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Posted: 15.05.2024

Masterminds is a New York rhyme team, comprised of Oracle, Kimani, and Epod, a trio of rappers who met as students at Wesleyan University in 1994. They are a throwback to the late-80’s hip-hop era, but at the same time they offer a futuristic lyrical presentation that is quite refreshing. Masterminds released “Underground Railroad”, their debut album, in 2000, followed a year later by “Stone Soup”.

“Stone Soup” is an intelligent and refreshing album. On first listen, the grinding production, all distorted guitars, subdued horn stabs and snares rattling like gun claps, is nothing special and even monotonous at times. But what makes “Stone Soup” one of the most relevant hip-hop albums of the time is the Masterminds’ incisive lyrics, slicing through the artificial hip-hop fakers and delivering on- point social commentaries with wisdom and passion.

On “Raiders Of The Lost Art”, they dismiss the pillaging of hip-hop culture by the frat-rock set with venom, ‘It’s open mic night so pick your penance, bid that nerd-rap Fred Durst crap good riddance’. “Stone Soup” is a no-nonsense, no frills album that drops knowledge on every track and reveals introspective soul searching that is lacking on most tight-beats-and-dope-rhymes underground albums. “Subliminal” spits fire on the media, music industry and those that follow it mindlessly, ‘Programmed musical individuals you are’.

The highlight of the album is undoubtedly “September In New York”, a drum & bass influenced ode to the after effects of 9/11, poignantly describing and celebrating a newfound appreciation for life in the worst of times. “Stone Soup” shows hip-hop at its lyrical best – observant, witty and thought-provoking.


01. Welcome Part I
02. 3rd Movement
03. Raiders Of The Lost Art
04. Stone Planet
05. Fairytales
06. Hueman
07. Step By Step (Feat. Murs)
08. Good Morning Night
09. Subliminal
10. Before All Hell Breaks Loose
11. Morning Star Rising
12. 2 Moms
13. September In New York
14. Resolution


FLAC – Wayshare

320 kbps – Wayshare

comment "Masterminds – Stone Soup (CD) (2001) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *