VA – The New York Sound (From The East Coast To The Future) (CD) (2006) (FLAC + 320 kbps)

Posted: 01.12.2022

This is another welcome collection of New York boogie from the early-’80s, a very interesting time in the history of modern soul music. Between the late-’70s until about 1983 or so, you see the disco backlash and the availability of affordable drum machines and the burgeoning hip-hop era collide to create an interesting strain of funk that was woefully underappreciated up until recent years. The last disco tune to have a major impact in the black community was Chic’s “Good Times,” and this became the model from which most R&B and then hip-hop took their sound from. The tempo was slowed down to about 90-100 BPMs, and the production became extremely minimal compared to the lavish sound of the mid-’70s disco era, with more emphasis on the bass lines. The drum sound got deeper and more compressed and the vocals were simpler and lot poppier. At the time, a lot of old school soul superstars became disillusioned with this stripped-down style because it was a stark contrast to the sound of old, and there was definitely a cookie cutter approach to many of the records. But these records have been highly-influential some 25 years later, because most current mainstream hip-hop have updated and even made a living sampling and rehashing these tunes (P. Diddy anyone?). You also hear how massively influential these records are in the underground neo-disco tunes from Metro Area, Lindstrom, Danny Wang and the like. Highlights of this collection include Fonda Rae and Rainbow Brown. This is some of my favorite music in the world.


1. The Players Association – Love Hangover (06:10)
2. King Tim III – Charley Says! (Roller Boogie Baby) (07:06)
3. Rainbow Brown – It Ain’t No Big Thing (04:56)
4. Busta Jones – (You) Keep On Making Me Hot (03:53)
5. Fonda Rae – Over Like A Fat Rat (05:07)
6. Fatback – Is This The Future? (08:53)
7. Jimmy Spicer – Money (Dollar Bill Y’all) (08:01)
8. Twilight 22 – Electric Kingdom (06:46)
9. C-Brand – Wired For Games (08:39)
10. MC Flex & The FBI Crew – Rockin’ It (06:25)


FLAC – Wayshare

320 kbps – Wayshare

comment "VA – The New York Sound (From The East Coast To The Future) (CD) (2006) (FLAC + 320 kbps)"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *